How to disable Jetpack’s automatic social media Sharing of products

Perhaps one of Jetpack’s best tools is the Sharing tool, which allows you to automatically share new posts on your social profiles, free of charge.

It works flawlessly, and almost never fails, so in this sense it works better than external services like Buffer or IFTTT, which sometimes disconnect from services more than they should.

However, its strength can also be a weakness, because by default it will automatically share all types of content on your website. That is, for posts, but also for products, projects or any other type of content (CPT).

You will not always want to automatically share on your networks the creation of new products in an online store, for example when you are creating a large catalog, or if this is simply not your strategy.

Well, if this is your case, you can easily disable Jetpack’s automatic social sharing on products with this feature:

/* Disable Jetpack's Sharing in products */ function wphelp_disable_sharing_jetpack_products() { remove_post_type_support( 'product', 'publicize' ); } add_action( 'init', 'wphelp_disable_sharing_jetpack_products' );
Code language: JavaScript (javascript)

You can add this code in one of these 2 places:

When you save the changes you have already disabled Jetpack’s Sharing tool for products, not even the Jetpack’s settings field will appear in the product editor.

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top Skip to content